SB 101 What you need to know about the new law...

Current news for ATVing and OffRoading

Moderator: sandkid

User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:44 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

SB 101 What you need to know about the new law...

Postby sandkid » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:03 pm

This message is from John lane who is the new ATV Safety and Education Coordinator for OPRD.

I want to make sure that all of you have a good link to the changes that Senate Bill 101 made to Class I and Class III ATV riding on Oregon's public lands.

Browse to: for an explanation of new ATV operator requirements.

In summary, to ride Class I and Class III legally:

Now: Children under 16 must have

o Adult supervision1 that can provide immediate assistance and direction2

o 18 and under must wear an approved helmet with chin-strap fastened

o Class III riders must be 7 or older

January 1, 2009: Children under 16 must have

All of the above, and

o Possess an ATV Education Card issued by Oregon Parks and Recreation

Department (OPRD) via on-line safety course and exam.

o Class I youth must meet OPRD's Rider-Fit standards (currently being developed)

All Oregon Class I and Class III ATV drivers are required get the ATV Education Card, and will be phased in according to the following schedule:

(1) On or after January 1, 2009, to persons who are under 16 years of age as of that date.

(2) On or after January 1, 2010, to persons who are under 31 years of age as of that date.

(3) On or after January 1, 2011, to persons who are under 41 years of age as of that date.

(4) On or after January 1, 2012, to persons who are under 51 years of age as of that date.

(5) On or after January 1, 2013, to persons who are under 61 years of age as of that date.

(6) On or after January 1, 2014, to all persons.

If you want to read the applicable statutes you can browse to: starting with paragraph 821.170, and if that didn't put you to sleep starting with paragraph 390.570

1 The law currently states that supervising adults are required to possess an Operator Permit but didn't give adults time to comply, therefore we are encouraging law enforcement to remain in an educational mode on this point for a while and concentrate instead on making sure the child riders are being supervised and have helmets. When the child does take the online exam that will be available next January, the adult should get one as well either by doing the same online course, or by submitting a form (to be provided online) stating that they are over 16 and have more than 5 years of riding experience. Either way there is no cost for the initial ATV Education Card. There will be a charge for replacements.

2 Immediate assistance and direction isn't defined in statute, but means that the adult supervisor has full communication (both visually and verbally) with the youth, as well as having the ability to get to the youth's location without delay. In very simple terms, if the child falls the adult is right there to help. The adult does not have to be on an ATV to supervise a child rider.

Although hands-on training is not a requirement for youth, it is an indispensable training tool that we recognize as the best delivery of the skills needed to ride safely. Oregon State Parks is committed to the task of someday making hands-on rider skills training mandatory for youth under 16 for Class I and Class III. Having a robust on-line safety training along with a hands-on rider skills course, and the supervision of adults will result in childrens lives saved.

It's important that we're all on the same sheet of music. therefore, I want to encourage you to please give me a call if you have any questions about any of this. Please also feel free to direct a caller or a student this way with their questions as well. OPRD ATV Staff contact information can be found here: ... tory.shtml

We're in a time of transition right now, and it's going to be very confusing for riders to know what they need to do to comply with the laws and rules. We're here to help you do that in any way we can.

See you down the road.

John M. Lane
Oregon Parks & Recreation Department
ATV Safety & Education Coordinator

NOW: All Class I and Class III riders under 18 must wear a fastened helmet. Operators under 16 must be supervised by an adult.

Return to “Here's what's happening!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest